"Fuh, fuh, fuh, fuh, fitness! Fitness!"
"Fuh, fuh, fuh, fuh, fitness! Fitness!"

DON’T LET HANNITY TEASE STUTTERERS

Last week, Sean Hannity made fun of Vice President Joe Biden for being a stutterer (watch it here, starting at 5:21). His guests laughed.

It was cruel. One of the hardest things about being a stutterer isn’t being teased, rather that people focus on your stutter instead of what you’re actually saying. It’s ok if you do not support Biden, but to tease anyone and doubt their competence because of a stutter is cruel and wrong. It tells the 3 million children (and adults) who stutter they can’t be who they are because of how they were born.

TAKE ACTION: GET HANNITY TO APOLOGIZE

Please join all of us who find it hard to say exactly we want, by asking Hannity’s biggest advertisers (Stamps.com, Liberty Mutual, and Bristol-Myers Squibb) to demand that Hannity apologize or lose you as a customer.

SEND 3 EMAILS TO HANNITY’S BIGGEST ADVERTISERS

All you have to do is send 3 emails (we’ve drafted them for you) to the executives of Hannity’s 3 biggest advertisers. Click the buttons below and a pre-formatted email will pop up for you to review.
Send Email to Stamps.comSend Email to Liberty MutualSend Email to Bristol-Myers Squibb
If the buttons don’t work, you can email them directly:

Stamps.com: Ken McBride <kmcbride@stamps.com>, Sebastian Buerba <sbuerba@stamps.com>, Eric Nash <enash@stamps.com>, Katie May <katie@shippingeasy.com>

Liberty Mutual: David Long <david.long@libertymutual.com>, Timothy M. Sweeney <tms@libertymutual.com>, Nancy Quan <nquan@coca-cola.com>, mediarelations@libertymutual.com

Bristol-Myers Squibb: Giovanni Caforio <giovanni.caforio@bms.com>, Severine Lacourt <severine.lacourt@bms.com>, Kathryn Metcalfe <kathryn.metcalfe@bms.com>, Phyllis Yale <Phyllis.yale@bain.com>, Julia Haller <hallerj@email.chop.edu>
Text you can use:

“I need your help. You’re one of Sean Hannity’s biggest advertisers. Last week, he made fun of stutterers, calling out Joe Biden. Whether you support Biden or not -- it’s cruel. It sends a signal to the 3 million children and adults who stutter that they can’t be who they are because of how they were born. It’s completely inappropriate to tease and mock someone, even worse on national television, for something he or she cannot control. 

I want to enlist your support in demanding an apology from Sean Hannity. Regardless of one’s political views, as an advertiser on his show, I do not believe you condone this behavior. It’s inexcusable! 

To help provide a voice to people who struggle to express themselves, I ask you to demand an apology from Mr. Hannity, or stop advertising on his show if he does not comply. 

Thank you.”

WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT STUTTERING?

There are a lot of great resources about stuttering. Some of our favorites:

National Stuttering Association. The NSA is the largest non-profit organization in the world dedicated to bringing hope and empowerment to children and adults who stutter, their families, and professionals, through support, education, advocacy, and research.

American Board of Fluency and Fluency Disorders (ABFFD). Stuttering specialists are speech-language pathologists who have been recognized by the ABFFD as having achieved advanced training and clinical skill for working with people who stutter and their families.

The Stuttering Foundation provides free online resources, services and support to those who stutter and their families, as well as support for research into the causes of stuttering.

The Stuttering Association for the Young (SAY) is a national non-profit organization that empowers, educates, and supports young people who stutter and the world that surrounds them. Through summer camp, speech therapy, and creative expression, SAY builds a community of acceptance where young people who stutter gain confidence and communication skills.